cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

zfw VPN tunnel problem

Josh Sprang
Level 1
Level 1

Recently i attempted to build a LAN 2 LAN VPN tunnel from an Asa to a 2911 running zone based firewall. This was a standard IPSec psk tunnel nothing fancy. I got the tunnel to establish but i could only get traffic to encap on the Asa side and decap on the 2911 side. I couldn't get return traffic. I followed this doc here for classic IPSec in the last example.

http://www.cisco.com/en/US/prod/collateral/vpndevc/ps5708/ps5710/ps1018/prod_white_paper0900aecd8062a909.html

And I am sure the Asa is right I built a ton of those but I am new to zfw. I did not see anything about a NAT exempt rule. But since everything uses real IPs instead of NAT I wasnt sure and I could not find any info. Do I need to do NAT exempt? If so do you use a route map on the end of you NAT overload config line like in the past?

Also I have a zone-pair to "self" and I was not sure if I needed anything there to be able to ping the inside interface of the 2911 when the tunnel is up from the remote end. Thanks

4 Accepted Solutions

Accepted Solutions

Is the zone-pair to self, from the outside to self?

And you say you dont use NAT, only have real addresses (public routable addresses?),so why would you need to do an exception for the NAT that you dont have?

View solution in original post

In your "ccp-permit-icmpreply" policy map you inspect the ICMP traffic and the default is pass, don't know if the pass default is a security risk, but because of that everything is allowed to your router, but the return traffic will not be sent back.

But I would do this for the self to outside:

policy-map type inspect ccp-permit-icmpreply

class type inspect ccp-icmp-access

inspect

class SELF-TO-OUT-VPN

inspect

class class-default

drop

class-map type inspect match-any SELF-TO-OUT-VPN-CMAP

match access-group name SELF-TO-OUT-VPN-ACL

ip access-list extended SELF-TO-OUT-VPN-ACL

permit esp any any

permit ahp any any