Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

2811 Priority on WAN links: Eth/WiFi/Satcom/RS232

I Am relatively new to Cisco stuff, but want to learn and think Cisco-way by working with the equipment.

I've got a 4402 WLAN controller with LWAPP's, several switches already configured and up-and-running.

The equipment will be installed on a mobile environment which has several external links. What I want to do is to have a priority/failover list which will automatically route to the best available interface.

Links I have (in descending order):

- WAN modem, ethernet (to use ADSL or cable when available)

- WiFi bridge, ethernet (to connect to WiFi hotspots)

- VSAT, ethernet (high speed satellite communication)

- Satcom, serial (2x 64Kbit/s satellite link)

- GSM, serial (56kbit/s PPP dialup)

The 2811 is equiped with a 4 port ethernet HWIC and a 4 port serial HWIC.

As I am completely new to the equipment I need to start from scrap. However at this point I've got no idea how I should approach this problem. A Collegea of mine already spend a few weeks on trying to get it to work, we do have a dialer working and routing via an ethernet interface.

The fallback/over is not working at all right now (actually we managed to setup the dialer as a backup for the ethernet but I think that's not the right way to do it), if someone could give us some advise on this would be greatly appriciated.

I Would like to know where I should start to look at for realising this setup. Or if someone knows an application sheet that would be great as well.

Many thanks in advance,

Kim

4 Replies 4

lgijssel
Level 9
Level 9

Your question is in fact how to realize connectivity via all possible interfaces and I must admit, it's an impressive list. To my best knowledge, there is no single document describing how to configure all of these different interfaces.