cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

3825 vs 3845: told the former won't do full DS3?

ja1064
Level 1
Level 1

we are ready to start an MPLS migration from frame. We will have a 12MB DS3 circuit here at HQ. I was ready to place an order for a 3825 when the IT guys at one of our sites was told by a Cisco re-seller that if we go to a full DS3 a 3825 won't handle it. We don't intend to do MPLS on our routers but continue to do IP (eigrp). This guy also seemed to suggest that if we want to get into video and the QOS that we would want with it that we would then want to do MPLS on our routers and that would also require more power than a 3825 could deliver.

i've never done this before nor have we done any video (we're a constantly cash-poor non-profit and we move slowly)

so,

#1: can a 3825 handle a full DS3

#2: what' the story with doing MPLS on my routers. When does one do that if ever?

#3. does streaming video (or using VOIP) require more power in the router?

5 Replies 5

pkhatri
Level 11
Level 11

Hi,

Answers to your questions

#1. The 3825 is rated for a throughout of 179Mbps - it could handle 4 DS3s !!. So your information is not quite correct. A 3825 will handle a DS3 perfectly well, particularly with the kind of traffic you have.

#2. MPLS is used by a lot of carriers - it allows you to do things such as L2 VPNs, L3 VPNs, and traffic engineering. Not too many enterprises out there have a need for it. There is no requirement for MPLS in order to do QoS and video.. you can do that just as well without MPLS (and with a good deal less complexity)

#3. Streaming video will increase the amount of traffic passing through the router (and so will VoIP) but the 3825 is perfectly capable of handling that for the kinds of traffic you are intending to pass through it.

Hope that helps - pls rate the post if it does.

Regards,

Paresh