cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

861W setup

mcmatt1cisco
Level 1
Level 1

I am new to 861W. I am having major trouble getting it configured. Hours with no success. CP Express can connect but doesn't seem to access all features. I can setup all items, but I have no internet access and the WLAN doesn't seem to come on. The CLI gives many errors and messages about using service-module for wlan-ap0 and setting ip address, but the command syntax help isn't complete and does not show an ip address function. Does anyone have a basic config for a network connecting via ethernet and wireless to the internet?? I thought it seemed like a reasonable request:)

9 Replies 9

hadbou
Level 5
Level 5

The Cisco 861W ISR has an integrated 802.11n module for wireless LAN connectivity. The router can then act as an access point in the local infrastructure.

http://www.cisco.com/en/US/docs/routers/access/800/860-880-890/software/configuration/guide/wireless_overview.html#wp1050833

I have configured router and now I am working on the firewall. It took 3 Cisco tech support contacts to get an initial working configuration. The 30 or so commands that it requires are not all described in the users manual for the 860. I don't really understand that, but it is working now in a basic fashion.

Hi,

any chance you would like to share that info. Having some issues with my 861W. Thank’s in advance.

S

Hello,

I'm also very intersted in the configuration for this at it is proving to be a nightmare to configure, even my hardened cisco super admin is ready to throw this thing out the window.

I cannot get access to Dot11Radio0 and therefore cannot setup any SSID's, the CP software is of little help but not when it comes to configuring the internal Wireless AP. When I try to get to the Wireless AP via the assigned IP adress all I get is a script error.

I'm giving this one last try before going to Watchguard.

Thanks

Andy

Forget scripts, GUIs and such junk.