cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

871 with Bellsouth DSL

larrykbolt5
Level 1
Level 1

I am trying to configure my 871 to work with a netopia DSL router I have tried to setup the cisco with the static ip provided by bellsouth with gateway and subnet I have also tried to configure the 871 with the pppoe username password and chap/pap prot setting in the netopia router. I have also tried to assign the 871 to accept dhcp on the wan fastethernet4 port all of the above settings tried where on the same port. Any help would be great what I am trying to do is get the 871 to be my outer most post and setup the site to site vpn. Thanks for any help in advance. I am new to cisco but not small business and home networks I usually use linksys routers and they are pretty straight forward with settings. I am using the SDM software that came with the router and I also am comfortable with CLI commands if need be.

8 Replies 8

Thanks for the quick Response. I will try these configurations and post wether go or no go thanks again.

I have tried the configurations from the links you posted I am having a problem

I typed in the CLI

router>en

router#configure t

router#vpdn enable

this is where my problem begins.

the prompt should look like this.

router#

but mine prompt looks like this.

router#

It doesn't go to the prompt. Thanks in advance for any help I know there is a way to go directly to right prompt but I am not sure the command.

router#configure vpdn what ever else would go there I know it can be done. thanks again.

Hi,

Look at the following document:

http://cisco.com/en/US/products/hw/routers/ps380/products_configuration_guide_chapter09186a008045d278.html

disregard/skip the vpdn group config, just use pppoe-client and should work.

I will give it another try thanks for the quick response.

dawidwilk
Level 1
Level 1

Hi,