cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

absolute noob question

guitarwolf
Level 1
Level 1

i'm doing 1st term of a 2 year IT program where i'm going to do my concentration in networking.

i'm trying to design a network as follows:

2 floor warehouse

55 workstations

3 servers

network backbone is fibre optic

communication between servers is 1GB/s over cat6

communication between computers and the network is 100MB/s over cat 5

so. here's what i'm thinking...

fibre optic-->router-->servers-->switches-->workstations

i have 3 servers and 3 switches.

should each server be connected to all 3 switches?

or, does the fact that all 3 servers connect to the router suffice.

i may actually only go with 2 switches, anyway.

any input would be appreciated.

thanks!

1 Accepted Solution

Accepted Solutions

Hey Fabian,

So I got your real name now. Good One.

Anyways yeah the second design you posted will work fine.

And because you are connecting the 3 switches now to 3 different ports on router they will be in 3 different subnets and because all will be directly connected on router they will be able to talk to each other without any special configuration on router.

And your design of connecting the switches to the routers with 1GBs Cat6, and connecting the servers to the switches with 1GBs Cat6 as well. does this make sense.

HTH

Ankur

*Pls rate all helpfull post

View solution in original post

12 Replies 12

ankbhasi
Cisco Employee
Cisco Employee

Hi Guitar,

You can connect 1 server each on one switch so incase any switch goes down your all servers are not affected. Interconnect your switches with each other via fiber optic and configure trunk between them and if possible configure your one switch to router via etherchannel for redundancy.

You can play with different network designs and the one I posted above is one example.

HTH

Ankur

hi Ankur,

thanks, that was a lot of help.

just to recap...

here's what's required:

-fibre optic backbone