Views
Helpful
Replies

basic GRE-ipsec questions

Rik19972000
Level 1
Level 1

I'm new to GRE tunnels and I've some quick questions

1)tunnel at one side stays up, unless the source interface defined under tunnel goes down?

2)if marking(L3) is done at the edge there's no need for qos preclassify

3)in a IPsec over GRE hub and spoke topology: gre multipoint needs only to be configured on the hub? I've seen that for DMVPN needs to be configured on the spokes but I suppose this is because they can dynamically setup tunnels with other spokes?

4) when is cryptomap profile used and when crypto-map?

12 Replies 12

Peter Paluch
Cisco Employee
Cisco Employee

Hello Rik,

1.) A Tunnel interface stays up if all these conditions are met:

i) The "tunnel source" interface is up/up

ii) The "tunnel destination" address is reachable according to your routing table

iii) If the GRE Keepalives are used, your router must be receiving the keepalives

2.) Not exactly. The reason for using qos pre-classify is that when a packet is transmitted out an interface with a crypto map, it is already GRE-encapsulated and/or encrypted before the QoS policies are applied. If you are classifying your packets using deeper inspection (transport protocol, ports, ...) on the outbound interface, this classification would not work here because the packet is already tunelled or even encrypted and thus the headers you are looking for are not visible anymore. The qos pre-classify feature allows you to make an internal copy of the original header prior encapsulation or encryption and automatically use them for classifying the packet on the outbound interface.

I suggest studying this wonderful document:

http://www.cisco.com/en/US/tech/tk543/tk757/technologies_tech_note09186a00800b3d15.shtml