Cisco Support Community
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements

Welcome to Cisco Support Community. We would love to have your feedback.

For an introduction to the new site, click here. And see here for current known issues.

BGP and Load sharing

Hi,

I'm still extremely new to BGP protocol. Apparently its the easiest to configure. Problem below.

I have to sites - A and B. Both sites have connections to 2 seperate ISP's we use.

Site A - Connection to both ISP's on same router.

Site B- Connection to both ISP's on seperate routers.

Does this constitute multi or dual homed BGP?

How would I achieve load-sharing / load balancing at both sites? Right now I would like to get it working at Site B.

Any help on this is good.

Thanks in advance.

3 REPLIES
Hall of Fame Super Silver

Re: BGP and Load sharing

Brad

Connection of your AS to at least 2 ISPs is the generally accepted definition of multi homing or dual homing. So yes it appears that you are multi homed or dual homed.

Some clarification would help: when you say that you have 2 sites, are the sites interconnected? Will both sites be in the same AS? (which would mean that your AS would have 4 connections for BGP) or will each site constitute its own AS?

Attempting to load balance with BGP is more complex that it is with interior routing protocols. The first thing to recognize about load sharing with BGP is that you need to find solutions to share outbound traffic and solutions to share inbound traffic (the IGPs take care of both together). And the solutions that take care of outbound traffic are separate and different from the solutions for inbound traffic.