cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

BGP route advertisement

r.candeloza
Level 1
Level 1

hi to all! I'm a newbie at BGP, i would really appreciate some help....

Here is my scenario: i have a edge router that connects to an ISP.  but this isp is sending me full routes that causes my router to experience high CPU utilization.  Ihave requested the ISP to send me just the default route. but after the change at ISP im no longer receiving any routes/prefix and the ISP also told me that my router is not sending and route advertisements.

I have attached the logs taken before and after the change and my router configuration.

thanks in advance.

Rachelle

2 Replies 2

Jon Marshall
Hall of Fame
Hall of Fame

r.candeloza wrote:

hi to all! I'm a newbie at BGP, i would really appreciate some help....

Here is my scenario: i have a edge router that connects to an ISP.  but this isp is sending me full routes that causes my router to experience high CPU utilization.  Ihave requested the ISP to send me just the default route. but after the change at ISP im no longer receiving any routes/prefix and the ISP also told me that my router is not sending and route advertisements.

I have attached the logs taken before and after the change and my router configuration.

thanks in advance.

Rachelle

Rachelle

Can you post config of router after change or did you not make any changes ?

Jon

marikakis
Level 7
Level 7

Hi Rachelle,

Remember to avoid posting sensitive information to the site (passwords, etc) in any form (encrypted or not).

Regarding your advertisements towards your ISP, remember, besides your network or (redistribute + static) statements, to check if any filters you have in the OUT direction (prefix-lists, etc) of you BGP session permit all the networks you would like to announce. If you made any changes to those filters, you might need to clear the BGP session softly in the OUT direction for the networks to get through.