cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

BGP with two ISP's.

dennylester
Level 1
Level 1

I am new to BGP and have a question about redundancy.

It's my understanding that I can get a T1 from two different ISP's and setup BGP to propagate a route to my network to both ISP's core routers.

Hopefully I am correct so far?

My question is our current public IP block was assigned to us by Sprint. If I get a backup T1 through AT&T, can I propagate a route to my Sprint IP block to AT&T's routers so it comes in on the AT&T circuit?

We recently had a Sprint outage and realized we depend to heavily on a single carrier. We want our website to have redundancy via another carrier.

Another question I have is, assuming the above works, should my Sprint T1 go down, how long does it typically take for the core routers to realize it needs to go to AT&T to get to me?

TIA,

Denny

7 Replies 7

Danilo Dy
VIP Alumni
VIP Alumni

If you are multihoming (that means BGP peering to two or more upstream ISP), you need to have your own AS and IP Address block

Here's a nice BGP PPT from Freedman

http://avi.freedman.net/bigbgp.ppt

http://avi.freedman.net/bgp102.ppt

Jon Marshall
Hall of Fame
Hall of Fame

Hi

Without knowing your addressing it's difficult to say but the main problem is that the block of IP addresses assigned to you by Sprint will be part of a bigger block of addressing that Sprint owns.

So Sprint will not be advertising your individual addressing to the rest of the internet rather they will advertise their aggregate block of which you addressing is part.

Even if you could get AT&T to agree to advertise out your Sprint addressing, and they may not as ISP have restrictions on this, your addressing would be advertised out by AT&T as your individual block because it's not part of their aggregate block.

So now all traffic coming to you will go via AT&T because they are advertising a more specific route to your networks.