Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

C2600 config registry/password recovery help

Hi,

I am studying for the CCNA and have my own lab. Several months ago I setup the lab and hand things running well, and decided to put it all away for a while. Alas, now that I have brought it all out again, I don't remember the passwords I used and have since destroyed my documentation, so this is perfect practice at password recovery/config maintenance type of stuff.

I am working on a 2610XM. When I power on the router, I see all the information pasted below. I have tried the password recovery processes described in the cisco knowledge base where we use the rommon prompt to load 0x2142, reset, then enable secret <password> and followed the remainder of the instructions, but when I reload the router after the process, the new password I've set still does not work.

Some things that are not consistent from the documentation that I am seeing are the messages Slot is empty and WIC is empty.

I am wondering if my router does not use 0x2102 for it's load, but it will not show what it is using and I can't run show version because of the password. I am connecting through the console port and using putty to access and configure. Below is a paste of the startup messages after the router decompresses it's image. Thanks for any input here, and please treat me like a child/idiot and take any chance to teach me proper cisco community help etiquette.

ory.

Processor board ID JAD070709N9 (1997350087)

M860 processor: part number 5, mask 2

Bridging software.

X.25 software, Version 3.0.0.

SuperLAT software (copyright 1990 by Meridian Technology Corp).

TN3270 Emulation software.

1 FastEthernet/IEEE 802.3 interface(s)

4 Low-speed serial(sync/async) network interface(s)

1 Virtual Private Network (VPN) Module(s)

32K bytes of non-volatile configuration memory.

32768K bytes of processor board System flash (Read/Write)