cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

Cannot access internet, ping PC with Cisco 871W

PeterR5368
Level 1
Level 1

I am new to Cisco and am studying for my CCENT certification. At the moment, I am attempting to correctly configure a Cisco 871W lab router. Since I have undertaken this task, I have run into nothing but problems. First off it was finding that the previous owner had left a password on it, having to purchase a new USB to DB9 adapter to pass the "break" sequence to the router, and then resetting the router in ROM Monitor mode.

Now, I cannot seem to configure the router correctly, and am quite stumped.

My ISP is Charter (cable internet), and the home network that I am using consists of a Motorola SBV5122 Digital Voice Modem, Motorola SB6120 Cable modem, and, ideally, should also include my Cisco 871W router.

When I connect my router to the SB6120 Cable modem, the router receives an IP address via DHCP and the WAN indicator light turns on.

I have a VLAN configured on the 4 switchports of the router, and it is setep to act as a DHCP server. However, when I connect my PC to rhe router via Cat5e Crossover cable, I cannot access the internet. The router gives the PC an IP address, yet all attempts to ping the PC from the router fail.

Somehow, I can connect to the router via SSH though.

Furthermore, I can ping the 127.0.0.1 loopback address from my PC, but cannot do so from the router.

All in all, I am very confused, and would appreciate any help/insight on my situation. All that I would like to do is learn how to correctly configure this router to function as intended in my network situation, however, this is proving to be seemingly unsurmountable!

I have attached the config of my router along with both outputs and commands relating to my predicament.

ping of pc from router.bmp

Router ping of loopback.bmp

show vlan-switch brief.bmp

11 Replies 11

Giuseppe Larosa
Hall of Fame
Hall of Fame

Hello Peter,