Views
Helpful
Replies

Cisco 1712: Remote management software issue

tobiaseichner
Level 1
Level 1

I deal with the following issue and hope for assistance:

We use a symmetric DSL line that is connected with a Cisco 1712 router that manages traffic for our Unix servers.

The remote management software we want to use requires access to ports 3283 and 5900. Since the server's firewall is correctly configured, but still can't get access using this software, I feel that the ports of the router are blocked by default.

But how can I check this (I have no experience managing the router over the terminal and the webpanel of the router shows that the firewall can't be managed this way because of the fact that ACLs have been used ?

Can someone provide me with tips or hints where to look ?

37 Replies 37

Richard Burts
Hall of Fame
Hall of Fame

Tobias

Your description does sound like an access list is blocking those ports. If you will post the config of the router (masking out passwords and sensitive information) we can advise you how to modify the access list to permit those ports.

HTH

Rick

HTH

Rick

Thank you for trying to assist me :-)

Okay, here is the configuration (telnet session opened, command "enable", command "show conf"). If you need anything else, please let me know.

Using 2124 out of 29688 bytes

!

! Last configuration change at 12:08:32 PCTime Tue Sep 19 2006

! NVRAM config last updated at 12:08:44 PCTime Tue Sep 19 2006

!

version 12.3

service timestamps debug datetime msec

service timestamps log datetime msec

service password-encryption

!

hostname adsl-gw

!

boot-start-marker

boot-end-marker

!

logging buffered 10000 debugging

enable secret 5 *************************************

!

clock timezone PCTime 1

clock summer-time PCTime date Mar 30 2003 2:00 Oct 26 2003 3:00

mmi polling-interval 60

no mmi auto-configure

no mmi pvc

mmi snmp-timeout 180

no aaa new-model

ip subnet-zero

!

!

!

!

ip cef

ip ips po max-events 100