cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

Cisco 857 adsl connection problems

kayasaman
Level 1
Level 1

Hi guys, first up I would like to say thanks for sorting out my dhcp issues in the getting started with LANS part of the forum!

I have an issue now with my adsl connection. I have set up the dialer 0 and atm 0 interfaces according to this guide:

http://www.cisco.com/en/US/tech/tk175/tk15/technologies_configuration_example09186a008071a601.shtml

and have supplied my ISP settings:

VPI 0

VCI 38

Encapsulation VC/MUX or VC Based

Protocol PPPoA

Mode G.DMT

Authentication CHAP

Preferred MTU 1500 (or as close to as possible)

I have supplied my config as txt file.

Again I'm very new to Cisco so please take things step by step.

Many thanks!

48 Replies 48

Is there any documentation on upgrading the 800 series as the one I've found: http://www.cisco.com/en/US/products/hw/routers/ps133/products_tech_note09186a0080094c07.shtml

is for 7000 series upwards?

If the basic principle is the same it means creating an ftp server from pc then downloading the image from the pc to the router.

I don't suppose there is a direct way through terminal?

Just use tftpd32 that is a free download and works nicely. No way to do it without a TFTP / FTP / HTTP/ RCP server.

Ok I transferred the file to the routers flash memory, now how do I get the system to use the binary?

I had a look at the upgrade command but it didn't work so I'm guessing I have to append a boot parameter somewhere?

Please read the document in the same directory on how to install the adsl firmware.

After, verify installation with "show dsl interface".

Thanks I think I upgraded fine, the only thing is that after running the command "show dsl interface atm 0" and "show interface atm" it doesn't tell me what version of firmware I'm using. After running: show dsl interface

Result is: ATM0

Alcatel 20190 chipset information

Line has not yet been activated. No information available.