cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

Cisco Router 2621 Help

mjchilders
Level 1
Level 1

I'm relatively new to dealing with Cisco routers so please forgive me if this is one of those "newbie" questions. Is there a way to make a backup of the image file of my current Cisco 2621 router to load onto another 2621 that will serve as a backup router over the Console or AUX port? The reason for this is that my spare has a corrupt IOS image on it and it will not boot into anything but Rmon mode. As far as I know, there is no TFTP server for it pull the image from. I would like to capture all of the settings, etc. from the production router and load them onto the spare - so that in case we have a failure all I have to do is plug it in.

7 Replies 7

thisisshanky
Level 11
Level 11

Michael,

No question is stupid!

Transferring the file over console port or aux port can be extremely slow. I would suggest an alternative.

1. Connect both Cisco routers on the same lan.(switch/hub)

2. Configure ip address for first router (working) 10.1.1.1.

3. Type sh flash on first router to find out name of the IOS image. I will call that

4. On this router configure

Router(config)#tftp-server flash:

5. Now this router is acting as a TFTP server.

6. On router 2 (not working), boot into rommon mode and use the following link to download the image from Router 1 to Router 2 via TFTPDNLD.

http://www.cisco.com/en/US/products/hw/routers/ps259/products_tech_note09186a008015bf9e.shtml

Remember to set all 5 paramters exactly like in the link. Use Router 1 as the TFTP server.

HTH

Sankar

PS: please remember to rate posts!

Sankar Nair
UC Solutions Architect
Pacific Northwest | CDW
CCIE Collaboration #17135 Emeritus

Thanks! I will give that a try. That's not going to interrupt anything on the first router is it? I can't change the IP address on the first router - right now it's our internet router and I can't just take it down in the middle of the day.