Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

Configuring new serial int

Hello,

I have posted on here a few times before and you guys have been very helpful. So here goes!

I have an existing Cisco 2621XM. It is connected to an external DSU via an ehternet crossover cable. I am about to get another T1 into the building from the same ISP but on a new DSU. I plan to buy 2 WIC-1T interfaces and use them to connect to both the DSUs. The DSUs are Adtran 608. They have v.35 interfaces. So, I relise this is asking a lot but could anyone help me with the best way to configure my router to use this config? I am a complete newb when it comes to Cisco and though I can use the command line and change settings, I have no idea about the best way to do this.

Please let me know if you need any more info.

I appreciate any help you can give me.

Paul

35 Replies 35

pkhatri
Level 11
Level 11

Hi Paul,

A WIC-1T gives you a serial interface. You can use a config like the following at each end:

interface serial0/0

ip address x.x.x.x y.y.y.y

encapsulation ppp

If this is a point-to-point link, the above should get you going.

Hope that helps - pls rate the post if it does.

Paresh

Thanks for your reply Paresh. I don't have access to the Adtran to configure it so I guess I will need to ask the ISP for config details. The Serial int will be going to a v.35 on the adtran. I was told by the tech that the encpsulation would be hdlc. Does that sound right?

You don't really need access to the Adtran as long as you know details of the service.

HDLC is fine - just remove the 'encapsulation ppp' command from the config I provided earlier.

Pls do remember to rate posts that help.

Paresh

Once again, Thank you for your help. I have a few more questions. I asked previously in this forum about load balancing and you replied telling me bout CEF and showed me a config that was something like this:

ip cef

!

ip route 0.0.0.0 0.0.0.0 serial0:1