Views
Helpful
Replies

Confusions in ATM

ratnesh.nagori
Level 1
Level 1

Hi folks,

I am a new member here and this is my first post.

Right now I am studying ATM and have lots of confusions. ATM communication happens through VPI/VCI. What are these and what is there significance.

What is a PVC ?

Also, how can we configure multiple pvcs on single atm interface, if you need number, it is 2000 PVCs. How can we do that.

Please reply with the config also (just gimme an example, i will be able to understand).

What is IMA ? Please provide details.

I will really appreciate your help.

Thanks in advance

Regards

Ratnesh

5 Replies 5

jpl861
Level 4
Level 4

I'll try to answer your questions base on what we are doing.

Usually, these VPI/VCI pairs are the layer2 identifier when trasmitted over the ATM switches (i.e. MGX 8850s or Lucent PSAX). A PVC as the name implies is a Permanent Virtual Circuit so it means permanent. VPI/VCI is like the DLCI of a Frame-relay circuit. Just like frame-relay, ATM also has point-to-point subinterfaces and multipoint subinterfaces. You can create multiple point-to-point subinterfaces if you want to have multiple point-to-point virtual circuits. Same as a multipoint, a multipoint sub-if can have multiple neighbors or peers on a single subinterface.

I don't know if you are sure to make 2000 VCs on a single ATM interface as it will be pain in the butt. When the interface goes down, all 2000VCs will also go down. And you will defin need a very powerful router to do that and I do not know if there is one. (I'm guessing on this part as I haven't read the white paper or data sheet of the routers)

HTH,

John

Hi John,

Yes the router I am using is a powerfull one .

Can you please reply with config, how to create the PVC on ATM interface ?

Regards

Ratnesh    

Hello Ratnesh,

there are features that can be of help in your scenario like ILMI PVC discovery.