Views
Helpful
Replies

connecting router to E1 line using CAB-X21MT cable

lunarsystems
Level 1
Level 1

Hello

I have a question about connecting the router to the E1 line, I have no knowledge/experience apart from CCNA.

I will connect a 1841 router with WIC-1T module to the E1 line using the X.21 DTE male cable.

What additional infomation will I need to have and what configuration will i have to do on the router in order to succefully setup the E1 connection to a remote site?

You can point me to the right documentation/tutorials on the web.

Thank you very much!

7 Replies 7

jackyoung
Level 6
Level 6

There is no special config. and just configure it as normal serial interface is fine.

The most important is to know the interface no., if you can't find it, you can type 'sh int" and it will show all interface w/ no.

Below is the doc.

http://www.cisco.com/en/US/products/hw/modules/ps3129/products_tech_note09186a00800b0859.shtml

Please feel free to let us know if there is any issue.

Hope this helps.

Thanks for replying jackyoung.

I have other questions about the setup.

I have the router configuration, i.e. IP addressess for WAN links. The 1841 router will have a WAN interface private ip address and a router at the remote site will have a private WAN interface IP address.

Like this:

10.13.1.1/30 my site WAN interface IP address

10.13.1.2/30 remote site WAN interface IP address

10.3.1.3 LAN interface, my site

10.5.1.3 LAN interface, remote site

10.5.5.0 DHCP, remote site (255.255.0.0)

10.3.1.2 Default gateway, my site

The two routers are separated by a very large geographic distance. HDLC will be used.

The above is straight forward. However, a modem will be used for a dialing into the router and the router will have the WIC-1T module. Therefore, I presume that the modem will be used to dial in using the AUX port and the WIC-1T will be the WAN interface connected to a dedicated line such as the E1.

Would this be a reasonable assumption?

Hello,