cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

Do I need new IP's for routing between ISP's?

dan_track
Level 1
Level 1

Hi

I'm looking to move from our single ISP to a dual ISP. Now I'm quite new to this so my query might be a little basic.

Currently the IP block we have is tied to our ISP (ISP1) to which we run a bgp session (the ISP provides us a default route via bgp). Now I'd like to add a second different ISP (ISP2) that also runs bgp, how would I go about routing my current ISP1 IP's with ISP2 given that the IP block belongs to ISP1 although we have been assigned those blocks by ISP1?

Is there anything I need to do with RIPE or with getting an AS number?

Any insight would be appreciated.

Thanks

Dan

10 Replies 10

guruprasadr
Level 7
Level 7

HI Dan, [Pls Rate if HELPS]

The only option is to contact with RIPE and register for an AS Number for your Company and it also reserve certain Prefixes.

Then, the prefixes can be advertised to different ISP in a Multihoming concept.

The ISP can also provide the default as before with BGP even after with the AS Concept as said before.

Note: Once the AS are registered, donot forget to create a route object for the prefixes registered. Because some of the Level-1 ISP's donot accept the prefixes without having the route-object created and registered.

Refer link below describing your scenario:

http://www.cisco.com/en/US/tech/tk365/technologies_configuration_example09186a008009456d.shtml

Hope I am informative.

Pls Rate if HELPS

Best Regards,

Guru Prasad R

Hi

Thanks for the reply.

Just so I understand what you said, you are saying I need to get an AS number from RIPE. However if I go ripe, ripe say that the best path is to get IP's from your ISP, but if I do that then that block is allocated to that ISP, how will ISP2 then advertise thos blocks if they belong to ISP1?

Thanks

Dan

HI Dan, [Pls Rate if HELPS]