cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Community Member

dot1q tunneling questions

Hello,

I posted this message to LAN forum and I didn't get a response. I supposed that the question is more related to WAN forum so I resend it.

I'm new to dot1q-tunneling and I must select hardware to it. I have two very basic questions:

-  Cisco Catalyst 2960 supports "switchport mode dot1q-tunnel" ? I think  that 3750 yes... but I'm not sure. The support of "dot1q-tunnel" is  related to IOS version or to the platform??

- If a switch doesn't  support dot1q-tunnel, will it be able to forward Q-in-Q traffic? I think  so, I think that dot1q-tunnel support is needed for the access layer but not for the transport layer. A transport switch without Q-in-Q support would have provideer-VLANs configured and it won't realize that  it's forwarding Q-in-Q traffic.. obviously it couldn't have ports for ingress or egress traffic, it would be only valid for transport. Am I right??

Thanks,

Christian

Everyone's tags (2)
5 REPLIES

My understanding is that dot1q tunneling will only need to be configured on your 2 endpoint devices (edge switches) that you'll be connecting. For example:

host -> CER -> ISP switch (dot1q tunnel) -> P Sw -> P Sw -> P Sw -> ISP Switch (dot1q tunnel) -> CER -> host

So, the 2 switches on the edge will need to be configured. They attach to a vlan that's internal to the ISP, so the other switches only need to know about that vlan (almost like MPLS and the PEs needing to know about VRF but the P routers don't).

As far as equipment, I'm not sure I doubt it's hardware based but it could be. I'd search on IOS versions to see what's supported, but I would imaging that it deals more with the IOS than hardware.

John

HTH, John *** Please rate all useful posts ***

Hi christian,

I would recommend you to look up the cisco feature navigator if you want to know what platform and IOS supports dot1 tunneling.