Helpful
Replies

EIGRP maximum bandwidth over a tunnel interface

Dean Romanelli
Level 4
Level 4

Hi All,

Im studying for CCNP Route exam and I came across the following information:

"EIGRP can use up to 50% of the total available bandwidth of an interface if needed. For example: EIGRP can use up to 768Kbps on a T-1 line if needed.

So, my question:

What is the maximum bandwidth EIGRP will allot itself over a tunnel interface?

1 Accepted Solution

Accepted Solutions

Dean

EIGRP will assume that the bandwidth of the tunnel is either the default value (which is extremely small) or what you have configured as the interface bandwidth. It does not consider the bandwidth of the physical interface.

The statement from your team lead architect is not correct. The tunnel bandwidth is not just for path preference. The specified tunnel bandwidth also impacts EIGRP bandwidth and also impacts calculation of utilization of the interface which might impact QOS (if configured) and any network monitoring software that tries to track interface utilization.

The best practice suggested by Cisco in EIGRP to select a preferred path is to manipulate the delay on the interface and not to manipulate the bandwidth.

The good news is that the bandwidth you are specifying is lots larger than the default. And other than the advertisements when the interface is first brought up the EIGRP advertisements are likely to be pretty small.

If you continue to be concerned about the impact on EIGRP there is a command that will tell EIGRP to use more than 50 per cents, which Joseph mentions.

HTH

Rick

HTH

Rick

View solution in original post

12 Replies 12

Joseph W. Doherty
Hall of Fame
Hall of Fame

Disclaimer