cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

EIGRP on PTP Links

rmartinjr24
Level 1
Level 1

I am studying for my bsci test and have a lab setup with a simple PTP link between 2 routers. The link is over a serial connection on a pair of 2500 routers. I configured EIGRP on both routers and added the respective LAN networks into eigrp on each. After adding the PTP /30 networks into eigrp on both sides, everything works fine.

My question is that on my companies production network, I have a PTP link between 2 locations (DS3) and do not have the /30 network added to eigrp and routing works fine. Why is this?

Each side is setup with the respective LAN network added to EIGRP, but that's it (other than a re-distributed default route).

What am I missing...?

1 Accepted Solution

Accepted Solutions

Richard

Assuming that this is the explanation then I would say that the good news is that it is still working - even when logically it should not. The bad news is that if either router reloads (or perhaps if one of the interfaces stops and restarts) then it will not work. I would certainly suggest that the configuration should be changed to have network statements that cover these serial links on both routers.

HTH

Rick

HTH

Rick

View solution in original post

11 Replies 11

Edison Ortiz
Hall of Fame
Hall of Fame

The WAN interfaces must have EIGRP enabled in order to route between devices. You can verify with show ip eigrp interfaces command.

It sounds like they decided to include a major network under EIGRP routing process that covers your LAN and WAN subnet. For instance, if your WAN subnet is 10.0.0.1/30 and your LAN subnet is 10.1.0.0/24 and your EIGRP routing process has

router eigrp 1

network 10.0.0.0

no auto-summary

Both WAN and LAN subnets will be running EIGRP.

The summary network is added to eigrp on the LAN switch.

The connection is L3 switchA-->routerA-->DS3 PTP<--routerB<--L3 switchB.