Views
Helpful
Replies

External IP's

smokie123
Level 1
Level 1

Hello,

I have 3 static IP's from my ISP, I wanted to order just 1 but they had a package that gives 2 more IP's for free, so i got 3 usable IP's.

I'm new to setting up static IPs per machine so thats what im asking about. im gonna try to give some information about my network before i ask my question.

I'm planning to setup a DMZ network, so this is what i got:

1 Router (routerA) from my ISP with 192.168.1.x

•      This router has is going to be used as my connection to the internet.
  •      1 phyical server running Windows Server 2008 (192.168.1.20) that will handle my "local" DNS server and host 2 Virtual Machines. This will be connected to routerA LAN port.
  •      2 Virtual Machines running the latest Ubuntu Server (192.168.1.20)  and one VM running the latest FreeBSD (192.168.1.20).
  •      Freebsd is going to run a mailserver.
  •      ubuntu is going to run MySQL, Apache.

1 standard Router (routerB) with 192.168.2.x, The WAN port on this router will be connected to a standard LAN port on routerA.

•      All my other devices like my main Desktop, laptop, mobile devices will be connected to routerB.

These are the IPs i got from my ISP (they are made up IPs):

• Usable IP 47.14.173.154 - 47.14.173.157
  • Network address 47.14.173.152
  • Router IP 47.14.173.153
  • Broadcast IP 47.14.173.158
  • subnet mask 255.255.255.248

What i orignally wanted was to use a static IP for the mailserver for backup purposes and the webserver, but since i got 3 IP's anyway for the price of one, i thought its a good idea to give the mailserver and the webserver their own IPs, and the last static IP to be used for my other devices and learn in the process.

So I know how LAN IPs work and how to give each local device its own static IP or dedicated IP in the router so there is no DHCP conflict between my devices, but I never really had the chance to give External static IPs to local servers.