Views
Helpful
Replies

fastethernet4 shutdown required when cable modem fails

asienaert
Level 1
Level 1

Hi,

Let me start with saying that I'm not a network expert and definitely not a Cisco expert, so all help is appreciated.

We have an 881W router connected to our cable modem and use it for both internet and VoIP applications.

The modem has a dynamic IP address and therefore the router is configured as a DHCP client.

However, the last couple of weeks the cable modem often loses its connection to the ISP for a very short time (seconds...).

I know that this is an ISP problem and we are off course discussing this with the responsible people their.

However, even when the connection is up again we can no longer connect to the internet.

The only thing we found that helps us reestablishing the connection is shutting down the fastethernet4 (WAN) interface.

I have 2 questions:

1) What can be the reason for this? The modem's IP address DOES NOT change.

Is it normal that the connection is not automatically reestablished?

2) Is there a way to configure the router such that a manual intervention (restarting the WAN interface) is not necessary?

Thanks and kind regards,

Alan

1 Accepted Solution

Accepted Solutions

Petar Milanov
Level 1
Level 1

hi Alan,

you can do tracking to the modem's WAN IP address by this way:

!

ip sla 1

icmp-echo x.x.x.x

timeout 1000

frequency 5

ip sla schedule 1 start-time now life forever

!

track 1 ip sla 1 reachability

!

Now you can tell the Cisco Event Manager to restart fa 4 when track goes to down:

!

event manager applet track-FA4

event track 1 state down

action 1.0 cli command "conf t"

action 1.1 cli command "int fa 4"

action 1.2 cli command "shutdown"

action 1.3 cli command "no shutdown"

action 1.4 cli command "end"

!