Views
Helpful
Replies

FR home lab question

Andrew White
Level 2
Level 2

Hello,

I'm studying for my CCNP (passed the switch exam) and I'm using GNS3 for the route exam which can cause me headaches with the idelpc option from time.  Anyway I also have some routers sitting there doing nothing that work gave me for my studies, but I'm finding I don't need them due to GNS3, but feel it's a waste.  Did you use real kit for your studies?

I have:

2 x 2620s

1 x 2621

2 x1841s

It would be useful to use 1 router as a FR switch so should I buy a NM-8A/S 8-port Serial Module giving me 8 serial ports and use it in a 2620 or I see you can buy a Cisco 2520 FR switch for a tiny bit more giving my 5 serial ports.

Or should I save my money and just use GNS3?

Thanks

3 Replies 3

johnlloyd_13
Level 9
Level 9

Hi,

It's more of a personal choice whether to use GNS3 or real gear, the end result would still be the same. Personally, I took the GNS3 route due to budget constraints.

If you choose to use GNS3, make sure your PC has good specs or plenty of RAM. I've read a lot of folks can pass ROUTE mainly using GNS3.

Alternatively, you could use a 2522 for your FR switch. It has an 8 built-in serial ports. You could then sell it once your done with ROUTE or use it for CCIE R/S if you plan to upgrade your skills.

Sent from Cisco Technical Support iPad App

Hi Andrew,

John has given some very good advice here. I personally use a 2522 as the frame-relay 'cloud' in my home lab and it works like a charm. Its perfect for studies all the way up to the CCIE exam.

Regards,

Aninda

Peter Paluch
Cisco Employee
Cisco Employee

Andrew,