Helpful
Replies

Frame-Relay multipoint

milkdroogy
Level 1
Level 1

Hello!

Currently I'm studying for the CCNA ICND exam and i have this question:

When i have a full-mesh topology(lets say its a Diamond shape)and instead of configuring many point-to-point sub-interfaces on each router i want to configure just one multipoint on each router.So as i understand, on every router i write something like this:

>interface serial 0

>encapsulation frame-relay

>no shut

>interface serial 0.100 multipoint

>ip address [some address and mask]

>frame-relay interface-dlci 102

>frame-relay interface-dlci 103

>frame-relay interface-dlci 104

>^z

As i understand i just configured the router to use "like 3 point-to-point" interfaces(which is what multipoint is all about).

the DLCI numbers are not the same on every router(so the next will be like 201 301 401)..

so my question is that if all this is configured right how come when i configured it on my Boson Net-Sim router simulator, after executing >show frame-relay pvc it showed that only one pvc is active,it also showed a lot of other DLCI's that i didnt even configured...

please help me this is killing me..

14 Replies 14

Richard Burts
Hall of Fame
Hall of Fame

Oren

The best guess that I can give for the answer to your question of why did the simulator not do as you expected with your configuration is that either you made a mistake in your configuration that you have not yet recognized or that you did something that the simulator did not expect. Unfortunately simulators are not real equipment and do not run the real operating system. They are programmed to react in certain ways when certain things are configured. When something is configured that they did not expect then their response becomes unpredictable.