cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

Guest Wireless Access

gleung001
Level 1
Level 1

I'm not a network expert but I am attempting to finish up a project started by someone else which is a setting up a guest wireless network. I'm having an issue where the machine connects to the SSID but doesn't get an ip address from the DHCP server set on the firewall. They all get the 169.254.x.x. Here's the equipment involved:

Cisco 3750G switch

Cisco ASA 5510 Firewall - IP 10.0.1.254

Cisco 2500 Series Wireless Controller

I've attached some screenshots. Let me know if you need more information. Thanks.

firewall.png

switch.png

Untitled.png

wlan.png

22 Replies 22

Michael Romero
Level 1
Level 1

I am new to the forum as well but could you explain to me why you are trying to get dhcp from a different subnet 10.0.0.0 than the one configured on your WAP 192.0.0.0? The best scenario for a "guest" network would be to split up the networks and have dhcp coming from its own subnet with the DNS information imbedded in dhcp for internet traffic.

Michael

devils_advocate
Level 7
Level 7

Can you diagram the topology?

Presumably the 192.168.90.* network can route to the 10.0.1.* network ok?

I would assume so, again not a network expert. Show ip route on switch comes back with:

C    192.168.90.0/24 is directly connected, Vlan200

10.0.0.0/24 is subnetted, 4 subnets

C       10.0.2.0 is directly connected, Vlan20

C       10.0.3.0 is directly connected, Vlan30

C       10.0.1.0 is directly connected, Vlan10

C       10.0.5.0 is directly connected, Vlan5

I think its the way the ASA is handling the Unicast DHCP requests as I suspect the Source address for them is the Interface on the WLC.

Try and disable the DHCP proxy feature on the WLC

Controller->Advanced->DHCP  

Untick the 'Enable DHCP Proxy' option.