cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

How to set the time

mkingcsnm
Level 1
Level 1

Guys I'm very new to Cisco so please have patience.

I have a Cisco 2620 V 12.3(26)

I would like to know how to set the correct time and date?

Thanks in advance.

1 Accepted Solution

Accepted Solutions

michael

The fact that your router does not maintain time over a reboot/reload does not have anything to do with the config and whether it was saved or not. It has to do with the router hardware. Some routers have a clock chip that maintains time over a reboot/reload. But the 2620 does not have this. So it goes back to default time when it boots.

The solution suggested by Kev is the correct way to set time once the router is running. But that time is not preserved over a boot process and you would need to set the time each time the router boots.

If the router has access to the Internet then an option would be to configure the router to use NTP and to learn correct time from an Internet NTP source (there are many available). If you run NTP then after the router boots it will learn the correct time and you will not need to worry about it.

HTH

Rick

HTH

Rick

View solution in original post

13 Replies 13

ktwaddell
Level 1
Level 1

Hi

clock set 12:07:00 15 september 2009

Don't forget to rate

Thanks

kev

Hi thanks for that. I put in what you stated and did a write mem afterwards but it still seems to default to mar 1 00:00:31 after a reload. Should I be doing something else?

Hi

when you write mem, did it report anything back?

also can you paste the config on here to look at?

Thanks

Kev

Hi Kev,

No messages were received when the write mem command was issued.

Here is a line from the config after reload:

*Mar 1 00:00:33.107: %LINEPROTO-5-UPDOWN: Line protocol on Interface FastEthern

et0/0, changed state to up

what about the config?

also can you make any changes at ll that stick after a reboot?

looks like the config is alright: