Views
Helpful
Replies

I am a beginner - OSPF issue

acbenny
Level 1
Level 1

Hi expert,

I am a beginner in ospf, below are few issues, hope you can help to solve. Thanks !!!

(1) Is it OSPF will choose DR and BDR in "EACH" LAN segment ?

(2) According to the attach diagram,

(2.1)From the view of "LAN Segment A", is it RTC will be elected as DR and RTD will be elected as BDR ?

(2.2)From the view of "LAN Segment B", is it RTE will be elected as DR and RTG will be elected as BDR ?

(2.3)Then if answer of 2.1 and 2.2 are correct, out of RTC, RTD, RTE, RTG, other routers will be DROTHER ?

(2.4) How about the DR/BDR status of RTC if RTC is a newly add router ? or we need to avoid to add RTC if there is a DR and BDR already exist in the network.

(3) How to define the Router ID in OSPF environment. ( use loopback address ? how about if there is two loopback address in two loopback interface respectively ?)

(4) I seldom see the sample configuration showing the "ip ospf network {broadcast | non-broadcast | point-to-multipoint}"

is it if not specify, the default is ip ospf network braodcast ?

(5) I know the different of E1(external cost) and E2 (external + internal cost ), but how can I choose what type of External route is the best to fit the network

(6) why injected default route or redistributed route need to specify the metric value

(7) why need to generate dafult route by using "default-information originate" , why not just simply add ip route 0.0.0.0 0.0.0.0 x.x.x.x ?

(8) is it redistribute connected subenet is same as advestise the network under the ospf domain

4 Replies 4

jackyoung
Level 6
Level 6

I believe below design guide can reply most questions. Please try to read it.

http://www.cisco.com/en/US/tech/tk365/technologies_white_paper09186a0080094e9e.shtml

Hope this helps.

network.king
Level 4
Level 4

Hi ,

To answer your queries ,