cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

Interface Stats: cache misses

richard.raehal
Level 1
Level 1

I have a Cisco 2801 router.  It was configured by someone else and I am currently documenting the system.  I am looking at VLAN's, performance, and othe rmetrics to get a baseline for our network.  I am new to using Cisco routers in a production environment.  All of my major work until recently was in a Cisco based school lab.

One of the complaints I receive from my users is that the remote access is very slow.  When I run the "show interfaces switching" command I get this output for the VPN interface:

FastEthernet0/3/0 Denver SSL

Throttle count          0

Drops         RP          0         SP          0

SPD Flushes       Fast          0        SSE          0

SPD Aggress       Fast          0

SPD Priority     Inputs      17292      Drops          0

Protocol  IP

Switching path    Pkts In   Chars In   Pkts Out  Chars Out

Process              2710671  463145378    8592539  806405734

Cache misses     2318572          -          -          -

Fast                    293912469 2182947899  300944488 3412479371

Auton/SSE          0          0          0          0

Under cache missing I see 2318572 packets.  The total number of packets in is 2710671.  Does the chache misses number indicate a packet switching problem that can be causing my slow VPN connection?  We are using a Sonicwall SRA 4200 for remote access.  All of the remote access traffic is over port 443 for the SSL VPN.  I am still readin about the different type of switching process versus fast versus SSE versus etc...

I can connect to the VPN server and run spped tests.  The speed tests will show a maximum speed of 3Mbps (Dual T1) if I run the tests when the services are not being utilized so I do not think my issue is spped realted.  I can copy a file form the network and receive a download at 8-10KB per second when the line speed allows 340KB per second.  I am thinking baout htis problem incorrectly?