Cisco Support Community
Community Member

ip ospf network command options


I'm a little confused with these five options, and wondering if someone could help me to clarify them.

I read in a book and it says there are five modes as follows:

1) Broadcast (Cisco Extension)

2) non-Broadcast (RFC-compliant mode)

3) Point-to-multipoint (RFC-compliant mode)

4) point-to-multipoint non-broadcast (Cisco extension)

5) POint-to-point (Cisco extension)

Can someone please clarify when exactly do we use these modes?

If the mode 'broadcast' is a Cisco extension, then a non-Cisco router in a LAN will not elect a DR and BDR, is it?

What is the difference between 'point-to-multipoint' and 'point-to-multipoint non-broadcast' modes? I mean which one elects the DR and BDR automatically and why we need to choose between the two? In other words, what is the advantage of one over the other?

Thanks a lot in advance!


Re: ip ospf network command options

Hope these URLs will answer to your queries.

hope to help ... rate if it does ...

Community Member

Re: ip ospf network command options


Thanks a lot for your post. It helped me to a certain extend. It would have been better if the fist URL's note was explained with Cisco routers. Anyway I got some sort of an idea. Thanks a lot.

Community Member

Re: ip ospf network command options

sory i dont know tell u later

CreatePlease to create content