cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

Is it possible to configure site-to-site PPTP VPN on cisco routers?

rasz92101
Level 1
Level 1

Hi everybody!

I need to know if there is any possible way to configure site-to-site PPTP VPN connection on cisco routers. 

If it is, how to configure this?

1 Accepted Solution

Accepted Solutions

Hi,

I am also a university teacher and to be honest, I do not see much of a point in focusing on PPTP. It is a relatively simple protocol, that's for sure, but it has drawbacks and especially when considering a site-to-site VPN, I do not see a compelling reason to prefer PPTP to other solutions, such as L2TP, IPsec, or even a plain GRE. It is not a typical solution especially between Cisco routers (as can also be seen by the difficulty you have encountered yourself when trying to find out how a PPTP client can be configured), and the PPTP is long considered obsolete. I am afraid that if the thesis focuses primarily or only on PPTP, it will not be representative. What are the particular reasons of your professor to stick with PPTP?

In any case, let's see how the configuration can be done. The PPTP Remote Access Server is configured as follows:

ip local pool PPTP_Clients 192.168.1.11 192.168.1.200
!
interface Loopback0
 ip address 10.255.255.5 255.255.255.255
!
interface Loopback1
 ip address 192.168.1.1 255.255.255.255
!
interface Virtual-Template1
 ip unnumbered Loopback1
 peer default ip address pool PPTP_Clients
!
vpdn enable
!
vpdn-group PPTP_RAS
 accept-dialin
  protocol pptp
  virtual-template 1
 source-ip 10.255.255.5