Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

LFI vs QoS

Hi,

I am pretty new to wan technologies and came across this question while reading QoS book. LFI(Link Fragmentation and Interleving) solves the problem of delaying real time application data such as voice,video etc on PPP links. Same thing can be achieved with modular QoS commands by classifying and policing voice traffic with service-policy commands. Is there any difference between these two approaches? If no, why to have redundant menthols for the same thing?

Thanks,

Balajee

12 Replies 12

Joseph W. Doherty
Hall of Fame
Hall of Fame

Disclaimer

The Author of this posting offers the information contained within this posting without consideration and with the reader's understanding that there's no implied or expressed suitability or fitness for any purpose. Information provided is for informational purposes only and should not be construed as rendering professional advice of any kind. Usage of this posting's information is solely at reader's own risk.

Liability Disclaimer

In no event shall Author be liable for any damages whatsoever (including, without limitation, damages for loss of use, data or profit) arising out of the use or inability to use the posting's information even if Author has been advised of the possibility of such damage.

Posting

They are not redundant.  The purpose of LFI is to deal with serialization delay on low bandwidth links.

MQC QoS deals with traffic treatment.

In some situations you need both.

For example, on a 128 Kbps link, as you might with a 1.5 Mbps link, you might use MQC QoS to place your VoIP traffic into LLQ.  The problem on a slow link, a MTU packet might have just started to transmit right before your VoIP packet arrives. For 128 Kbps, it will take about 94 ms to transmit 1500 bytes.  This delay might bust your end-to-end time delay for VoIP.