Cisco Support Community
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements

Welcome to Cisco Support Community. We would love to have your feedback.

For an introduction to the new site, click here. And see here for current known issues.

Load Balance Internet & VPN Traffic via 2 links

Hi Pros,

My Network is as seen in the diagram attached.

I have a HQ in Bombay, where all users & servers are located. I have a firewall to inspect traffic as it enters the HQ & also where IPSEC VPN Terminates.

Besides, I have 2 IPLC Circuits connecting to routers in London & Chicago. These routers serve 2 purposes. 1) Act as PSTN Voice Gateways 2) Internet Gateways.

Right now, the Chicago router is not set up.

Business uses the single link to the internet (London) & remote clients connect to our network servers via Site to Site VPNs via internet (London).

Now that Chicago is coming up with Internet connectivity, we want to load balance Internet on Bombay router.

We have 200.200.200.x/27 assigned by London ISP, 2 IPs are used by router & firewall interface. Rest are Natted to Private IPs of servers which need to have global IPs.

The problem is -

1) New ISP in Chicago will provide /27 Public IP Range

2) I dont know whether new ISP in Chicago can advertise 200.200.200.x/27 assigned to us by London ISP.

3) If they can, a dynamic routing protocol will be needed to update link changes. Should I use BGP? If yes, how should I configure it?

4) If I dont use BGP, are there any alternatives. Like I could use the second Public range by Chicago ISP & NAT it to my servers similar to what is done to London, right?

5) If I follow that way, I presume I wont have to run BGP inbetween my 3 routers & the ISPs. But then how can I achieve proper load balancing for outgoing as well as incoming traffic.

Thoughts please...

Pratik

5 REPLIES
Gold

Re: Load Balance Internet & VPN Traffic via 2 links