Views
Helpful
Replies

Load Balance over 3 T1's

computerboytw
Level 1
Level 1

Hello,

I am new to the cisco world and have a sitatuin I would like to better. We currently have 3 T1's 2 from one provider and one from a different provide. Each one finds its way into a cisco 2600 router. I would like to find out how to load balance across all three along with offer failover capabilities. Can someone point me to a good article or give me a good direction to go from here. Thanks for the help in advance.

5 Replies 5

sachinraja
Level 9
Level 9

Hello

Is it a point-to-point T1's (Private Links) or going through to internet ? If it is a PPP circuit, you can just enable CEF and do per-packet load balancing. You can just enable routing for the destination subnet across all three links and make sure the packets gets load balanced.

ip route 172.16.0.0 255.255.0.0 serial 0/0

ip route 172.16.0.0 255.255.0.0 serial 0/1

ip route 172.16.0.0 255.255.0.0 serial 1/1

In this case, all the three entries go into the routing table and incase any link goes down, the other two will take the traffic..

Incase the T1's are not point to point, you need to do multihoming (since there are 2 ISP's) with a protocol called BGP, which is a little complex and tough to explain here. You can search in CCO and read about BGP if this is ur scenario.

Hope this helps. rate replies if found useful..

Raj

In addition to Raj's post. You can also consider Multilink PPP, it will load sharing the links at PPP layer instead of at routing level.

Check below for more info.

http://www.cisco.com/en/US/tech/tk713/tk628/technologies_configuration_example09186a00800a5efa.shtml

Moreover, if you use MLPPP, you have to check the CPU loading during the test and do beware of the cable connection sequence at both ends. Both ends should have the same sequence to connect to remote side.

If depends on the situation and you better carry a test for two solutions to determine a suitable one for you.

Hope this helps.