Views
Helpful
Replies

Load Sharing Multihomed to Two ISPs Through Multiple Local Routers

vinodjad1234
Level 2
Level 2

Hi,

I am new in BGP configuration field. I have two ISP's which are terminated to my two routers. and two ISP are connected to ISP C. I have one AS number in my LAN . I am looking for loadsharing and if router A is connected to ISP A ... and router B is connected to ISP B. I want to have load sharing with one subnet to go via router A and other subnet to go via router B.

I have no clear picture about BGP configuration ............ how to achieve it ............?

According to my knowledge , I can configure the two static route with floating option. and divide the traffic flow but to reach ISP C. i want to understand how to achieve it with help of BGP?

Diagram is attached ...

Please suggest me ..................

15 Replies 15

Laurent Aubert
Cisco Employee
Cisco Employee

Hi,

The best way to loadshare in your case is to have a third router behind A and B. This router will have two default route received from A and B (via any IGP). A and B will receive from this router your local subnets.

This way your traffic sent to the Internet will be CEF load-balanced based on the source and destination IP addresses of the packet.

You can't do it via BGP as you can't load-balance between an eBGP and iBGP route (except in MPLS-VPN world)

HTH

Laurent.

james.mirtsis
Level 1
Level 1

Hi,

Sorry but I couldn't open your topology diagram, but I am thinking there has to be an easier way to acheive this than to buy another router. Are you running an IGP between your two routers? Could you possibly use a route map? How is your LAN connected to these 2 routers and how are the routers configured?

Hi,

I have attached diagram since you are not able to open the existing diagram.

Behind Router 1 ( Existing name A ) and Router 2 ( Exsiting name B ) , I have firewall which is clustered and got one virtual IP address.