cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

MPLS and DMVPN backup links. I need some help focusing!

nickhesson
Level 1
Level 1

Hello all,

I'm pretty new to the MPLS and DMVPN worlds.  But after much research and reading I'm still left with some basic "what should be done" or "what do most people do" type of questions.  So I need a little help in getting to the brass tax / action items I should be completing or looking at. 

The current network state is where we have over a hand full of remote small sites that are using site to site VPN via ASAs.  Also each site has remote access vpn's coming into each site.  The problem is of course, we are getting more and more sites online every year.  This network has no real design but connectivity.  But we do have most VPNs terminating at one site that is a VERY lacking "hub" type site.

Here were the goals:

1. Get away from VPN's onto a brand new MPLS network.  (this is already in progress)
  2. Use the existing internet link for backup DMVPN.
  3. Relocate all remote access vpn terminations from each site to load balancing or Primary/backup Hub sites.

There are a lot more goals to complete, but these are the few that relate to the question(s). 

Here is the network design, the "very lacking" site is going to be are starting hub site (Op Hub2) until we get on main hub site at a colo up and running.  But Op (operations aka the lacking site) network and CoLo network will be the hub sites.  Each hub will be running ACS, ACE servers, and GSS server to load balance applications, and remote access VPNs.  Also each hub site will have access to both internet and MPLS.  The network between them will be the "control network" that will be home to the ACS, ACE, GSS, and all hosted apps.