Views
Helpful
Replies

MPLS - load balancing on a Layer2 circuit EoMPLS

sagou.brahim
Level 1
Level 1

Hi all,

I'd need a help about a load balancing question in an EoMPLS environment. I'm relatively new to this technology... Here is the situation :

I've got two sites A and B with two STM-1 links between them. In each site I have a 7200 router, each one with two POS interfaces connected to the STM-1 links. Let's name the two routers R1 and R2.

I've activated OSPF routing between R1 and R2 (the two WAN subnets and the loopback adress of each router).

I've also activated MPLS on all the WAN interfaces.

Now on the LAN side of each router I want to connect a switch, and I want the switch of each site to be part of the same LAN, so I'm trying to use EoMPLS configuration (xconnect command on the LAN interfaces of the routers).

This seems to work well as the two remote sites are able to comunicate at layer 2, but my problem is that I do not know if I will have a load sharing between the two STM-1 links (when I use the command "show mpls l2transport vc detail" , I have only one WAN interface used as the output interface for that layer 2 circuit...). Is it possible to configure a layer 2 circuit to use redundant mpls paths?

Thanks in advance for your help,

brahim

6 Replies 6

mheusing
Cisco Employee
Cisco Employee

Hello Brahim,

EoMPLS uses two labels, the IGP label for the IPv4 address used in the "xconnect" command - call it IPDA - and a VC label negotiated through a directed LDP session between the two VC endpoints.