Views
Helpful
Replies

MTU between switches

yyagolyyagol
Level 1
Level 1

Hi All ,

Its my first post and im no CISCO expert , need some understanding of MTU .

I have this cenario :

2X 2960 switches connected with 1000FD trunk interfaces .

the MTU is set with default 1500 .

if i set the connection MTU to 4500 between this switches , and have other interfaces set with

default 1500 , what would happen ? should i expect for packet losts or would it be OK .

the reason i want to have MTU 4500 is that MTU of 1500 maximum speed cannot get over 32Mb/s

and there for cannot use the full speen of the 1Gb ethernet/interface .

Diagram1.png

7 Replies 7

gatlin007
Level 4
Level 4

The path MTU is the smallest MTU on any interface in the path between two hosts.  So if any interface MTU is 1500 bytes regardless of how large the other interfaces MTU is; the path MTU will be 1500 bytes.

If a frame is sent that exceeds the MTU of an interface it is discarded.

The MTU for a switch is usually set globally for the entire switch.  That said; this is code and hardware dependant.  Please get the configuration documentation for your exact hardware/software versions.

Chris

Mahesh Gohil
Level 7
Level 7

Hi yan,

Nothing will change..you will face no packet loss. But yes it is always good practice to have consistent MTU between

all networking devices. reason is you face problem if

1- Your device is sending packets with df bit set and there is device inbetween whose mtu is less than the packet size.

2- If you have l2 mpls link somewhere and it is passing through this low mtu node.

anyway choice is yours it is better to have consistent mtu .

By the way i didn't understand below statement

i want to have MTU 4500 is that MTU of 1500 maximum speed cannot get over 32Mb/s

and there for cannot use the full speen of the 1Gb ethernet/interface

Regards

Mahesh

Thanks for the reply ,

I understand now that according to the chema i drow