Views
Helpful
Replies

NAT Problem_Accessing Internal WebService

Leonireland_2
Level 1
Level 1

Hi Guys,

Ok i'm new to working with Routers (in the real world)

So i have a client who needs to access an internal server to access a web service. The web service should also be available to two ip address's (lets say 198.1.1.1 & 198.1.1.3) The Web Service uses port 80.

Ok so i entered a nat statement as follows:

ip nat inside source static tcp 192.168.1.5 80 interface dialer 0 80

This worked fine but all WAN ip address can access the webservice. I was thinking of creating an access list to tie down port 80 to the two wan addresses but then internal hosts will not be able to browse the internet.

Anybody have any ideas?

I'm thinking that i should be using a different port number for the webservice but not sure how to change it or what do do in the nat statment.

Please help

Kind regards

Leon

17 Replies 17

cadet alain
VIP Alumni
VIP Alumni

Hi,

you can accomplish this with a stateful firewall config like ZBF if you've got the IOS supporting it:

http://www.cisco.com/en/US/products/sw/secursw/ps1018/products_tech_note09186a00808bc994.shtml

Regards.

Alain

Don't forget to rate helpful posts.

Hi Alain,

Thank you for the quick reply. This is a very old cisco router 1701 ADSL Router. So i'm not sure if the IOS would support it??

Thanks for your help

Kind regards

Leon

Set up an ACL only allowing him to you..

Try it in conjunction with a Route Map..

Hi Danny,

Thanks for the reply...the problem i am having is if i write out an access list blocking port 80 the internal clients will not be able to go online.

The Webservice will work ok but the internal clients will not be able to access webpages online using port 80

Any other ideas?

Regards

Leon

Hi Leon,

Your not blocking anything, your natting with a route map and ACL.. ACL's can be used for more than permitting and denying, they can be used for BGP routes / QOS and all manor of things.