Views
Helpful
Replies

Need help configuring 1841 Router with a WIC-ADSL1 Module

dallen0
Level 1
Level 1

Hello folks...

I am new to using this forum so please bare with me...

I only know a little about programming a CISCO router but I know the config I setup is not working...

Here is what I want to do...

• The ISP provides us with IP Addresses via DHCP. Our public address is NOT static so the interface on the DSL Module needs to be provisioned to get a DHCP address with a CLASS C License.
  • The IP address of the Router should be 10.0.0.10 subnet=255.255.255.0
  • The LAN Clients need receive their IP address via DHCP EXCEPT for a range of 100 addresses. The lan Clients only need about 40 DHCP addresses.
  • ONE of the Lan Clients (10.0.0.3) needs to have ports 25, 1723, and others forwarded to it.

Below is the config I am trying to use but I can't even ping the router from the LAN. What am I doing wrong?

Can anyone tell me how to fix this and can you send examples or even rewrite my config for me? I would be grateful!

Please advise...

Dale Allen

41 Replies 41

hi dale,

got the opportunity to look again on your config, you seem to have used both authentication protocol - CHAP and PAP. looking at your thomson ST  modem logs, it uses PAP. kindly make the necessary changes in using only PAP  (verify this info with your ISP).

interface Dialer1

ip address negotiated

ip nat outside

encapsulation ppp

dialer pool 1

ppp chap hostname CP1004NTT6Q

ppp chap password 0 CP1004NTT6Q

ppp pap sent-username CP1004NTT6Q password 0 CP1004NTT6Q

-----

should look like this

ppp authentication pap callin

ppp pap sent-username password

Hi John,

To my best knowledge, this change would not accomplish anything. The particular kind of PPP authentication is not enforced by a node willing to authenticate itself, rather, it is requested by the neighboring node that wants to authenticate its peer.