cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

network setup

choisam77
Level 1
Level 1

hi. i'm very new to networking. i need some help choosing equipments for my network. i have one t1 point to point and either one t1 internet or cable. i might need both of t1 internet and cable later on but for now i only need one. i will be using 10 computer station but within a year will be using 24. another 2 year maybe 48. we are planning to use t1 point to point for just one application alone and other using t1 internet/cable. bandwidth wise 10-15 stations will eat up all t1. i think i need router and switch but not sure what to get or how the setup will look like. if anyone can help me i would really appreciate it. thanks.

ps we are equity trading firm. we need stable and fast network.

1 Accepted Solution

Accepted Solutions

Hello,

Since 1841 has only 2 slots, and if you put one wic-1dsu-t1-v2 card (1 port T1 card) on each slot, you are out of options for a third t1 if you plan to add in the future. Versus if you spend money on a 2811 or 2821 right now, you get 4 HWIC slots and also a network module slot. This provides a lot of expansion options, if you wish to go beyond the 2 T1 limit...

Hope that makes sense.

PS: Please remember to rate helpful posts!

Sankar Nair
UC Solutions Architect
Pacific Northwest | CDW
CCIE Collaboration #17135 Emeritus

View solution in original post

16 Replies 16

thisisshanky
Level 11
Level 11

Considering your expansion options, Cisco docs recommend using 2800 series for 20 - 50 users environment for up to 2 T1s. Even though the documents recommend 2800s, you should be fine using an 1800.

For routing traffic across different T1s for specific applications, you will need to configure policy routing.

HTH

PS: please remember to rate replies!

Sankar Nair
UC Solutions Architect
Pacific Northwest | CDW