Views
Helpful
Replies

Newbie needs help with two 1841s

julian
Level 1
Level 1

Hello,

I have two 1841s that need to cap off a P2P between our offices. I am pretty new to routers and can ping each routers serial interface and ethernet interfaces but I can not get it to hit across to the other subnets. I am pretty sure that I am missing a very basic premise somewhere.

I have two subnets, A & B. A is a 10.33.0.0/22 and B is a 10.33.4.0/24. Each subnet has it's own dedicated internet connection which is the first node address... for example 10.33.0.1. I have configured my DCs with a static route add 10.33.4.0 255.255.255.0 10.33.3.240 -p where 10.33.3.240 is the eth0/0 on the router A.

Subnet B is the reverse and eth0/0 on router B is 10.33.4.254.

Router A s0 is 206.186.244.122/30 and B is 206.186.244.121/30.

If I am on router A, I can ping 10.33.0.2, I can ping 10.33.3.240, and I can also ping 206.186.244.122 but in all my trials I have lost the ability to hit Router B.

If I try to view my ip routes, I get a message that says I have not configured a default gateway?

Any ideas?

Thanks for helping out a newbie.

1 Accepted Solution

Accepted Solutions

atif.awan
Level 3
Level 3

If you get the message that you do not have a default gateway configured then most probably you do not have ip routing turned on. Try putting the following command on your routers in global configuration mode:

ip routing

Make sure that you have the correct routes entered in both routers. Router A should have a route for subnet B with a next hop of router B and router B should have a route pointing to subnet A with a next hop or router A.

I am not going to get into the specifics of your design at the moment but there might be a way for you to use this p2p link without having to add static routes in all machines having to access resources across the site.

View solution in original post

5 Replies 5

atif.awan
Level 3
Level 3