Helpful
Replies

OSPF Design

James Hoggard
Level 1
Level 1

Hi All,

hope you can help

I have a 20 site network and need them all connected. The main office in london holds all servers. all sites need local internet breakout and all need to access the main site and maybe some internet site connections.

Would there best deign be GRE/IPSEC then run OSPF?

I'm not sure the ospf design here

Would i put the wan facing ip of each site in area 0 and all ths spoke lan interface in there own area say 1,2,3,4,5,6,etc

I'm new to OSPF just wondered if anyone knew the best design. We havn't yet confirmed what router models to use at each site.

Thanks

4 Replies 4

vmiller
Level 7
Level 7

Are you running a private line based network ( you order circuits) or over the internet?

No need to complicate things with 20 sites. with the right sized router everything could reside in Area )

WILLIAM STEGMAN
Level 4
Level 4

What does your PER to CER connection look like?  Is it OSPF that is then redistributed into your provider's BGP network?  Or are you running a layer 2 service between your 20 sites that allows you setup OSPF logically between those 20 sites?  With regard to OSPF design, the # of areas is determined by your ability to handle and propagate changes in the areas.  You can isolate those changes by using different areas and/or stub areas.  Like the other response pointed out, this can typically be absorbed in newer hardware/models and spare you some complexity and work, or you implement some design and upfront work that will help scale the network and accomodate future change and capacity.

we will not be using BGP.

we have 10 and 100mbps straight internet connection at each site provided by our isp. We just plug our kit at each site. Just wondering with 20 sites the best design. We just need all hub sites to communicate with our main office which has all the servers. How would i design OSPF to accomdate this?