cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

OSPF over non Broadcast

akascarface
Level 1
Level 1

Guys I have a very weird issue I am helping out a buddy and I cant get OSPF to form up. Now let me throw out there I'm not a newbie to R&S but I'm not a CCIE. I can get the point to point serial interfaces to ping each other but I can't get ospf to see each other as neighbors. I have 3 routers one in Chicago one in LA and one in New Jersey. Before we sent the routers out I connected back to back serial cables to the routers and ospf formed up and saw each other as neighbors. The routing tables populated etc. Now we get the routers out to the locations and OSPF wont form up. The serial interfaces can ping each other and there are no erros on the line but they wont talk as neighbors. Its weird because we can change the encapsulation from hdlc to ppp and the circuit comes up with both encapsualations. I suspect the ISP sold this to my buddy as point to point but its probably some non broadcast media like frame in the backbone between Chicago to LA. Here is the config for Chicago and LA. Lets just begin here and assume if this works New Jersey will to.

Chicago:

controller T1 0/0/1

framing esf

clock source internal

linecode b8zs

channel-group 23 timeslots 1-24 speed

interface Serial0/0/1:23

description LA California T1

ip address 172.16.0.5 255.255.255.252

encapsulation ppp

router ospf 1

router-id 1.1.1.1

log-adjacency-changes

network 1.1.1.1 0.0.0.0 area 0

network 10.100.1.0 0.0.0.255 area 1

network 172.16.0.0 0.0.0.3 area 0

network 172.16.0.4 0.0.0.3 area 0

default-information originate always

ip route 0.0.0.0 0.0.0.0 10.100.1.1

LA:

interface Serial0/1/0

ip address 172.16.0.6 255.255.255.252

encapsulation ppp

!

router ospf 1

router-id 5.5.5.5

log-adjacency-changes

network 5.5.5.5 0.0.0.0 area 0

network 10.200.5.0 0.0.0.255 area 5

network 172.16.4.0 0.0.0.3 area 0