Views
Helpful
Replies

OSPF Route Filtering External Type5

nightshade2109
Level 1
Level 1

Hi

I need some help i'm trying to figure out how to filter certain routes being advertised to neighbors, i'm banging my head against a wall here.

Below is an example of one of the routes i'm trying to stop advertising, I have tried ip prefix-lists and distribute-lists which only seem to remove the route from my routing table but i can still see the route in the ospf external database.

Any help would be greatly appreciated, i am no cisco expert but i am able to find my way around and do what i need to do.

Type-5 AS External Link States

Routing Bit Set on this LSA
  LS age: 1941
  Options: (No TOS-capability, DC)
  LS Type: AS External Link
  Link State ID: 41.76.6.104 (External Network Number )
  Advertising Router: 10.87.95.54
  LS Seq Number: 8000000E
  Checksum: 0xF135
  Length: 36
  Network Mask: /29
        Metric Type: 2 (Larger than any link state path)
        TOS: 0
        Metric: 1
        Forward Address: 0.0.0.0
        External Route Tag: 3741

1 Accepted Solution

Accepted Solutions

The only thing that I could see you be able to do would be to create another BGP peering with the ISP on your end. Then you could control what routes are being redistributed into bgp from ospf. The problem that you have now is that you have a single area, and with ospf the database has to match. The design that you have now won't allow you to restrict what you're sending to the ISP. If you really want to control it, you need to move the redistribution point to your side and then you should be able to....

HTH,

John

HTH, John *** Please rate all useful posts ***

View solution in original post

8 Replies 8

Akash Agrawal
Cisco Employee
Cisco Employee

Hi,