cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

Ping

revilo3246
Level 1
Level 1

Pls. help, im just a novice in networking. I just want to know what is the difference between normal ping and extended ping in a router. I tried to ping the neighbor router using normal ping but its unsuccessful. I used extended ping target:neighbor router S0 source: E0 from other router and its successful, why is it so? thanks in advance.

5 Replies 5

thisisshanky
Level 11
Level 11

standard ping doesnt allow ping packets options to be tweaked. extended ping allows you to change source address, specify data pattern in ping packet, set TOS bits ,specify timeouts, specify packet lengths, specify number of ping packets etc and many more.

What kind of connection exists between the routers in question.

Sankar Nair
UC Solutions Architect
Pacific Northwest | CDW
CCIE Collaboration #17135 Emeritus

thanks, but what i want to know is that how come i was not able to ping the neighbor router's port using normal ping but when i use extended ping its successfull.

The answer to your question is answered by Shankar already in the previous post... it is quite possible that you are specifying a different Source address in Extended ping... then the one in Normal ping...

Hope you find this helpful....

~sultan

Oliver really posed two questions in the original post: he wanted to know about the differences between standard ping and extended ping, and he wanted to know why standard ping failed but extended ping succeeded. Sankar's answer was a good answer to the first question and an indirect answer to the second question.