Views
Helpful
Replies

Point-to-Point between US and Holland

jkrysinski
Level 1
Level 1

Hi,

I have a point-to-point setup between the US and Holland. Both locations are running integrated VWIC2-1MFT-T1/E1. Both locations are using the line for clocking as directed by the carrier. I am seeing a high rate of crc, abort, and input errors on the Holland side. I am waiting to hear from the provider on the testing of the lines but I have been struggling to get this line fully operational. My fear is that they will come back and say it is an equipment problem but I have replaced all the cables and have used external CSUs with the same results. This is my first attempt at setting up a point-to-point across the pond but my research is pointing at timing for causing the errors and performance degradation. I have attached portions of the configs from both routers. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

19 Replies 19

paolo bevilacqua
Hall of Fame
Hall of Fame

Your config is correct.

If they come back saying it's your equipment problem, you can reply asking to put a traffic generator for a 48h BER test, and that you will only accept an error rate better than 1 x million (international standard). Make sure you are present on site and are shown the test results first person.

In the meanwhile, your alternative for efficient and economic link between the two site should be an IPsec VPN over high speed circuits.

Thank you for the response. My backup link is a IPsec VPN link. We had to go with the high priced point-to-point circuit for contractual reasons. I will keep your advice in mind when I hear back from the provider.

It should be worth then to present to the contract underwriters a refresh about telecommunications technologies of the current century.

Good luck and please remember to rate useful posts with the scrollbox below.