cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

PRIORITIZE BY DESTINATION IP ADDRESS

johnhuston
Level 1
Level 1

I am new here and looking for a configuration example to help me prioritize specific IP addreses from a subnet to two or three specific internal ip addresses.  If anyone has a link or an example they would be willing to share I would greatly appreciate your help.

+================+                      +=============+

=  Subnet 10.2.2.0/x   = -----> rtr ---->rtr = General Network =

+================+                      +=============+

I have never done this before.  It is to help a site where we have limited bandwidth and need to prioritize the packets.  Naturally processes and machines at the site  have priority but we are unwilling to pay for a higher bandwidth.

Thanks!!

1 Accepted Solution

Accepted Solutions

Yes, you can create your acls like that as well and it will match any traffic coming from host to host.

access-list 101 permit ip host 10.2.2.1 host 172.16.1.1

access-list 101 permit ip host 10.2.2.2 host 172.16.1.2

etc.

You can set a dscp value outbound on the wan side, or set it on the lan side to make a decision on the wan side. The latter would require a separate service policy inbound on the lan side. If you set the value outbound on the wan side, depending on the way your connection is the ISP might strip your tag and you won't receive what you think you should be on the other side.

To set the tag, you can do something like:

class-map match-any SetTag

match access-group 101

class-map match-all Web

match dscp af21

policy-map SetTag

class SetTag

set dscp af21

policy-map Web

class Web

bandwidth 512

police 768000 conform transmit exceed drop

int

service-policy output Web

int

service-policy input SetTag