cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

QoS causing slow data transfers

mmillington_nal
Level 1
Level 1

I am a new network admin at my company, and I am investigating a problem that is on a network designed by someone no longer here. So, I can't ask why things were set up the way they were. Anyway, here's the issue:

We have 50Mbps WAN connections between locations. The WAN devices are 3750s, but the port plugged into the providers network is a layer 3 port. Config is below for one of the ports:

interface GigabitEthernet1/0/1

description

no switchport

ip address x.x.x.x x.x.x.x

load-interval 30

srr-queue bandwidth share 10 10 60 20

srr-queue bandwidth shape 10 0 0 0

queue-set 2

mls qos trust dscp

So, these are Gig ports, but our service provider limits to 50Mbps. When we do a data transfer, we can't exceed about 20Mbps total on the circuit. The data transfers at maximum 15-16Mbps.

I'm not familiar with QoS. I've tried to read more about SRR, but don't understand it well enough to know. Are the QoS settings creating this restriction? Our provider swears that the bandwidth is allocated and its not being choked on their end. I have not taken off the QoS config to test it that way because I'm not 100% sure if its needed and serving some purpose. I don't want to break something in order to fix this.

Is the QoS causing this? Do I need to put a bandwidth statement on the port? Should we be using routers and LLQ? Any help would be greatly appreciated.

10 Replies 10

Joseph W. Doherty
Hall of Fame
Hall of Fame

Disclaimer

The   Author of this posting offers the information contained within this   posting without consideration and with the reader's understanding that   there's no implied or expressed suitability or fitness for any purpose.   Information provided is for informational purposes only and should not   be construed as rendering professional advice of any kind. Usage of  this  posting's information is solely at reader's own risk.

Liability Disclaimer